Fees a Maryland Workers Compensation Attorney will charge
Many injured workers are reluctant to obtain legal help because they feel that the attorney will charge an hourly rate that will quickly add up. This is not the case with Maryland workers compensation attorneys because there is no up front fee. Fees are on a contingency basis meaning the attorney is paid only if money is recovered for the injured Maryland worker.
For immediate assistance and a Free consultation call +1 (410) 937-1659 and speak with Maryland workers compensation attorney Mr. Rodabaugh. OR Email
Workers Compensation Attorney’s work on a contingency basis
A contingency fee arrangement has been the overriding practice among personal injury attorneys. This includes workers comp, medical malpractice, car accidents, slip and falls, defamation, and other cases. The contingency fee arrangement is an agreement between the client/injured and their representing lawyer indicating the lawyer will use his or her own money to obtain medical records, hire witnesses, pay for litigation expenses, and cover most expenses as they come up in the case. In return the injured client agrees to pay the attorney a percentage of the money the attorney is able to recover.
The theory of a contingency fee arrangement is to provide those who do not have adequate finances to pay for an attorney the opportunity to do so. Typically non-personal injury attorney fees can range anywhere from$150 to $1,000 an hour but this is not the case in personal injury cases. Some argue that the percentage a personal injury attorney charges is high for the amount of work they are performing. Others appreciate the fact that it could end up being a total loss for an attorney if the case is not successful.
While most auto accident and personal injury attorney’s charge anywhere from 33 1/3 % to 40%, Maryland workers compensation attorneys are mandated by law to charge less.
Attorney Fee percentage on a workers compensation case settlement or permanency award
The contingency fee arrangement in a workers compensation case is unique in the fact that Maryland’s Code of Regulations indicates in black letter law what the attorney may charge. The typical fee for a Maryland workers compensation attorney is 20%, however as the amount of compensation recovered increases the fee percentage decreases. If the attorney recovers $300,000 the fee is not going to be $60,000.
What is also interesting about fees in Maryland workers compensation cases is that the fee is capped by state law. For example if the recovery is $200,000, the fee is likely going to be close or the same as a fee in a $500,000 case.
If you have been injured on the job while working in Maryland or while working for a Maryland employer but out of state there should be no reluctance to higher a Maryland workers compensation attorney based on the fee they may charge.
Workers Compensation attorney fees for recovering lost wages
As previously indicated an attorneys fee for a settlement or permanency award is roughly 20% but gets reduced as the amount of the settlement increases. Attorney fees for recovering lost wages are mandated at 10%. If an injured worker was not paid temporary total disability TTD by the insurance adjuster and the workers comp attorney is required to go to a hearing then their fee is 10% of the money recovered. If however, the attorney is able to convince the adjuster to make the lost wage payments without the need for a hearing then the 10% fee is not applicable and the injured worker will owe nothing to the attorney out of the back TTD that is paid.
For a free consult call +1 (410) 937-1659 and speak with Maryland workers compensation attorney Andrew M. Rodabaugh